03 AUG 2020


The ten newly announced members of the National Infrastructure Commission Young Professionals Panel have held their first meeting, establishing their remit to build a stronger voice for younger infrastructure creators and users in the commission’s work, at a time of increased focus on infrastructure as a key engine of economic recovery.

Meeting virtually as a result of the current Covid-19 restrictions, the ten new members of the panel – led by new chair Ann Zhang – will aim to build on the legacy of the members of the first Young Professionals Panel and ensure the commission’s work draws upon the creativity and diverse viewpoints of potential future leaders from across infrastructure.

Over the next two years, panel members will be asked to help improve the commission’s engagement with younger generations and contribute to the decision-making process guiding the commission’s work.

The ten members of the panel represent sectors and professions including engineers, economists and planners. They were selected to be fully representative of the next generation of professionals, many of whom may eventually be tasked with implementing some of the major strategic shifts recommended by the commission.

National Infrastructure Commission chair Sir John Armitt said: “Our work is all about thinking thirty years ahead and helping government to make the right decisions now to ensure the prosperity and quality of life of citizens of all ages, now and in the future. So it makes sense for those of us who’ve been involved in infrastructure for some time to continue to listen carefully to those bringing fresh perspectives, and I know commissioners look forward to having our thinking challenged.”

The final ten selected are:

  • Ann Zhang: Economist, PA consulting, who will chair the YPP;
  • Calum Askins: Transport Engineer, WSP;
  • Caroline Bryce: Asset Management Advisor, Mott MacDonald;
  • Sam Cocking: Structural Engineer, University of Cambridge;
  • Mike Davis: Consultant Engineer, Atkins;
  • Sophie Deas: Senior Sponsor, Network Rail;
  • Jo Garvey-Rae: Quantity Surveyor, Turner & Townsend;
  • Brittany Harris: Co-founder, Qualis Flow;
  • Monica Laucas: Consultant, AECOM;
  • Cissie Liu: Policy Manager, Ofgem.

The new Young Professionals Panel will meet formally at least four times a year and contribute to the commission’s thinking through participation in commission meetings and workshops with the secretariat and other stakeholders on themes relevant to the commission’s current programme of work.

More information on the new members can be found on the updated Young Professionals Panel page.

These ten panel members take over from the first YPP cohort, whose period in office ended in May 2020 with the publication of their Generational Shift opinion pieces relating to the future of UK infrastructure.


Owned by the industry; acting on behalf of the industry. Delivering the intelligence that is critical to success in infrastructure.

Visit website  arrow