16 SEP 2019


Network Rail’s regional directors have each confirmed a series of appointments to their senior management teams as the company’s 14 new routes go live today. (Mon 16 Sept).

The 14 new routes each take responsibility for operations, maintenance and minor renewals in their respective areas, and managing the day-to-day delivery of train performance and relationships with their local train operating companies.

The new routes and regions are part of phase one of Network Rail’s Putting Passengers First programme, providing the framework for further phased changes to be introduced through to summer 2020, subject to consultation.

Andrew Haines, Network Rail chief executive, said: “The 14 new routes are all about moving power and accountability from the big network functions to the routes and regions, giving them greater accountability for train performance in their areas. It is a fundamental change and at the heart of the transformation of Network Rail to a business that is unequivocally on the side of passengers and freight users, focused on delivering better day-to-day performance.”

The route director appointments are summarised as follows:

Eastern region (led by Rob McIntosh, managing director):

  • Ellie Burrows: route director, Anglia;
  • Gary Walsh: route director, East Midlands;
  • Matthew Rice: route director, North & East:
  • Paul Rutter: route director, East Coast.

Scotland’s Railway (led by Alex Hynes, managing director):

  • Liam Sumpter: route director, Network Rail Scotland.

Wales & Western region (led by Mark Langman, managing director):

  • Bill Kelly: route director, Wales and Borders;
  • Mike Gallop: route director, Western.

North West and Central region (led by Tim Shoveller, managing director):

  • James Dean: route director, West Coast Mainline South;
  • Phil James: route director, North West;
  • Dave Penney: route director, Central. *

Southern region (led by John Halsall, managing director):

  • Mark Killick: route director, Wessex;
  • Shaun King: route director, Sussex;
  • Fiona Taylor: route director, Kent;
  • Katie Frost: route director, Network Rail High Speed.

*Dave Penney will take up his position in the new year. David Golding will be acting route director for the Central route in the interim.


Owned by the industry; acting on behalf of the industry. Delivering the intelligence that is critical to success in infrastructure.

Visit website  arrow