NEWS / Press Releases / Consultancy & Engineering Awards shortlist announced


15 MAR 2017


2017 Award nominees released

The Association for Consultancy and Engineering (ACE) has announced its shortlist for this year’s prestigious Consultancy & Engineering Awards. From the business categories, chosen for overall business performance, to the champion categories, the awards showcase the best that the engineering and consultancy sector has to offer.

This year’s shortlist was an arduous decision for judges, with the winners to be announced at the Consultancy & Engineering Awards Gala Dinner in central London on 7 June 2017.

Commenting on the shortlist, Dr Nelson Ogunshakin OBE, chief executive of ACE said: "As we face the many political uncertainties ahead, it is vital for our industry to continue as the backbone of the UK, not only providing the best properties, housing, schools and major infrastructure projects necessary to modern life, but also as a shining beacon for exceptional talent and innovation. The strength of this year's entries is a clear indication that the future is bright for our industry. Congratulations to all those shortlisted for their remarkable achievements from companies across the built and natural environment sector. I look forward to welcoming you to the 2017 Consultancy & Engineering Awards Gala Dinner this June to be hosted by acclaimed newscaster Clive Myrie."

The shortlist for the Consultancy and Engineering Awards 2017:

Best UK Business Performance – SME:

  • Lewis Hubbard Engineering
  • IMC Worldwide
  • CGL
  • Clancy Consulting
  • Geo-Environmental Services

Best UK Business Performance – Large Firm:

  • Curtins
  • Mott MacDonald
  • BWB
  • Peter Brett Associates
  • Atkins

Young Professional of the Year:

  • Lisa Rammig – Eckersley O’Callaghan
  • Paul Diebel – Mott MacDonald
  • Tahira Newaz – MWH
  • Ben Freedman – MLM
  • Simon Evans – Atkins
  • Mannan Akshat – Atkins

Apprentice of the Year:

  • William Mathew – CH2M
  • Nathan McClean – Tony Gee & Partners
  • Caitlin Stuart – Troup Bywaters + Anders
  • Jordan Laraway – Arup
  • George Hart – Arcadis
  • Kyle Baptie – Arup
  • Bruce Gibson - CH2M
  • Millie Coombes – Atkins
  • Stuart Hirst – TSP

Inclusion and Diversity Champion of the Year:

  • Max Fordham
  • Arup
  • Mott MacDonald
  • WSP
  • BWB
  • CGL

Training Initiative of the Year:

  • WSP
  • BWB
  • Troup Bywaters + Anders
  • Cundall
  • Hurley Palmer Flatt
  • MWH

Collaboration Champion of the Year:

  • Northern Hub Alliance
  • IMC Worldwide
  • WYG
  • Hoare Lea
  • Amey
  • Waterman
  • Chapman BDSP

Technology Champion of the Year:

  • Davies Maguire
  • Hoare Lea
  • Structuremode
  • Northern Hub Alliance
  • Ramboll
  • BWB

Sustainability Champion of the Year:

  • Mott MacDonald

We encourage those across the industry to share show support of those shortlisted by using #CandE2017, and we look forward to seeing you all at the Consultancy & Engineering Awards Gala Dinner on 7 June 2017.

For more information on the Awards Gala and full shortlist please click here.


James Ketchell

James Ketchell

Head of Communications

James leads communications at ACE and EIC. He also contributes to Infrastructure Intelligence.

email07904 276 249