

APPG on Building Communities: Minutes 12.05.21

The APPG on Building Communities held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) on the 12th May 2021 at 14:30 and the meeting concluded at 14:45.

Attendance:

Bob Blackman MP Claire Coutinho MP Ben Everitt MP Lord Hodgson Liz Twist MP Stephen Timms MP

Guto Davies – ACE Gareth Lonie Steve Quartermain Nick Taylor Cameron McIntosh - ACE

Item 1: Election of group officers including Chair and Vice-Chairs

Bob Blackman MP welcomed members and parliamentarians to the APPG on Building Communities AGM and asked the secretariat to proceed to the nominations for Chair and officers of the group.

Nominations received by the secretariat was as follows:

- There was one nomination for Chairman Bob Blackman MP
- There were five nominations for Vice-Chairs Liz Twist MP, Andrew Lewer MP (notified in writing), Alison Thewliss (notified in writing), Ben Everitt and Lord Hodgson.

Cameron McIntosh (ACE) proceeded to the vote which was as follows.

Elected Chair: Bob Blackman MP

Elected Vice Chairs: Liz Twist MP, Andrew Lewer, Alison Thewliss MP, Ben Everitt MP and

Lord Hodgson.

Item 2: Statement of expenditure

Cameron McIntosh (ACE) provided an update on the groups expenditure and this was approved by the APPG on Building Communities.

Item 3: Update on workstreams, Productive Placemaking

The Chair provided an update on the upcoming workstreams which included 'Placemaking: Local regeneration' and 'Placemaking: Net Zero'. The Chair mentioned that the recent



Queens Speech had referred to the planning white paper which would provide an opportunity at the next formal APPG meeting to discuss how regeneration and the wider placemaking agenda forms part of government proposals.

Cameron McIntosh mentioned that an invite for the next APPG formal meeting would be circulated to the APPG membership in the coming weeks.

The meeting was closed at 14:45